Why I like the Alviso

The trip is getting easier, I wasn’t prepared this time, but things went well nonetheless. I got a “bike computer” which is just a digital odometer and measured the ride today. Averaging 10mph up (fierce headwind) and 14 mph back, my whole trip was about 22.5 miles. I MAY take on the 27 mile trip on saturday when there will be less traffic on the roads. gMaps says it is 2:24 but I know for a fact I will get lost.

Tomorrow is first Friday and I need to leave the free beer party at TechShop in order to troll art and the street festival.

Here are some pics from my latest Alviso trip. Some of what I like about it comes across brilliantly.

Alviso
a crappy pano, taken in my camera, but without other work, crappy because you can see the seams

Alviso
yes these are salt ponds, and the one thing I really like about my camera is that it does great in macro mode

Alviso
self portrait in shorts on salt

I was surrounded by water on all sides:

Alviso
south

Alviso
west

Alviso
north

Alviso
east

Alviso
And I cannot help but stick it to SF, this is what the San Francisco summer looks like, I have to say that I am digging San José’s : )

Alviso
And though I haven’t shot in a while, this is typical of my landscapes, though you can see my rustiness with the near bulls-eye composition. Bayscape is probabaly more accurate.

um and I have a thing for trains:

Alviso

Alviso

