Prototype One – Ticket to Werewolf

ah-math

I started out my trip with some awesome friends in western Mass and some prototyping. Emily Boss Care and Epidiah Ravachol met me in Boston and we drove to Greenfield, the trip just flew by as we talked and talked. I had ulterior motives though as I had a vexing problem with a game I just could not quite start, the premise / problem is thus:

Create a game that can be played with an event ticket, the game should help people break the ice and give them a reason to continue to play with others throughout the even.

We started playing with some props I brought and ended up with a few rounds of liars poker (with $2 bills), a fun game that is usually played for the money, but I figure that every ticket can have a unique (though not necessarily unique) serial number.

two-serial

We kept going and played a little 3 player “are you a werewolf” and followed that up with some rock-paper-scissors.

We added a little twist to the game which put one werewolf and 2 villagers and said that the werewolf was permitted to cheat in liars poker, and added an rps symbol to the ticket that enabled the player to “change their choice” after play.

This became kind of interesting, but we realized that there should be a way to reveal portions of the information to other players to “prove” your results.

An interesting aspect emerged that if a player did really well on liars poker, they were immediately suspected of being a werewolf.

tickets

To add a social element and make the players seek out new players, we added a kind of experience points that let the players change roles as they gained them.

The biggest innovation was an overlapping tri-fold that kept some info secret while revealing others. This could facilitate the whole game.

Playing the ELD game days later I realize the greatest challenge is going to be finding the right audience that will play, but our little prototype is pretty good. I just need to find a dozen or fifty people to test it on.

If I see you this summer, we should play…

